• "Ram Ram Udaipur" is a brand new TV show produced by Shikshantar volunteers that features Udaipur's socially active, eco-conscious, and artistic citizens! It's one of the only programs in the country in the Mewari language. Watch the latest episode online today!

Useful Resources for Organic/Natural Living in Cities

Check out the Urban Innovations Film Festival on-line!

and Our Lives, Our Homes, Our Cities - an innovations booklet!
Also, available in Hindi!

On Urban Spaces:
Community Trees Project: www.communitytrees.org
The Billboard Liberation Front: www.billboardliberation.com
Project for Public Spaces: www.pps.org
Land Reclamation: counterproductiveindustries.com
The God Bless Graffiti Coalition, Inc. www.counterproductiveindustries.com/gbgc
Street Artists Forum: ekosystem.org
Social and Public Arts Resource Center: www.sparcmurals.org
"green roofs keep on growing" - a fresh squeeze
"How to Make PaperCrete"
Eco-City Builders
Center for Sustainable Living: www.centerforsustainableliving.org
The City Repair Project: www.cityrepair.org/wiki.php/about
The Chicago Green Guide
Sustainable Living Initiative: http://www.grow-our-own.co.uk/
The Wall Project: thewallproject.com
Earthship Biotecture: earthship.net

On Upcycling, Zero Waste and a Toxic-Free World:
Exnora: www.homeexnora.org
Wastebusters: www.wastebusters.net.nz
GAIA (Global Alliance for Incineration Alternatives): www.no-burn.org
Clean Development Mechanism and Waste Disposal Fact Sheet: http://no-burn.org/downloads/GAIA_CDMFactsheet.pdf
Greenpeace India: www.greenpeaceindia.org
Taiwan Watch: www.taiwanwatch.org.tw
Basel Action Network: www.ban.org
Zero Waste Kovalam: www.zerowastekovalam.org
Thanal, Kerala: www.thanal.org
Equitable Tourism: www.equitabletourism.org
CHINTAN: www.chintan-india.org
Computer Take Back: www.computertakeback.com
Zero Waste Tamil Nadu: www.sipcotcuddalore.com
Green Crusaders: www.greencrusaders.com
"plastic bags are killing us" - USA
"beautiful or safe?: toxic personal care products" - a fresh squeeze
"the slow poisoning of india" (film) - India
"polymers are forever" - Orion magazine
"the truth about bio-plastic" - a fresh squeeze
The Story of Stuff: www.storyofstuff.com
Ecological Footprint Quiz: http://www.myfootprint.org/en/visitor_information/
Zero Waste for Zero Warming: www.zerowarming.org
Recycle Bank: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xFAJv6a2YA
The Humanure Handbook: weblife.org/humanure/default.html
Living in a World without Waste (Kamikatsu, Japan): http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/7502071.stm
Say No to Plastics - a presentation
Zero Waste Schools (New Zealand)
Ecological Sanitation Research: http://www.ecosanres.org/
Children, Youth and Environments Journal: http://www.colorado.edu/journals/cye/
Home Composting (film)
Green Planet Films: www.greenplanetfilms.org
Upcycling - Re-imagining Our Waste (Berkana Learning Community Portal): www.digitaluniverse.net/upcycling
Waste Recycling System - Shuddham in Puducherry: shuddham.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/watch-the-new-shuddham-video/

On Car-Free Transportation and Bicycle/Pedestrian Power:
Citystreets: www.citystreets.org
Car Free Cities guide: www.carfree.com
Transportation Alternatives: www.transalt.org
Bicycle Civil Liberties Union: www.bclu.org
Italian Car Free Advocates: www.lesscars.org
Spanish Language: www.laneta.apc.org/bicitekas
Body Cartography: www.bodycartography.org
National Center for Bicycling and Walking: www.bikewalk.org
New Mobility: http://newmobility.org 
Walkable Communities, Inc.: www.walkable.org
New York City Bicycle Film Festival: Thoughts on My Bike(film)
Common Circle Expeditions: www.commoncircle.com
Pedal Power Produce: http://culturechange.org/pedalpowerproduce.html
Shake Your Peace: http://shakeyourpeace.com/
Pleasant Revolution: http://www.pleasantrevolution.net/
"a sustainable community that's worth smiling about"- Australia
"clean cars only go part way" - Orion magazine
"we don't smell the air" - Down to Earth magazine

On Community Media and Expressions
Raw Vision – Outsider Art: www.rawvision.com
IndyMedia: http://www.indymedia.org/
Adbusters: www.adbusters.org
target="_blank">http://www.acmecoalition.org/
Cascadia Media – Guerilla Video Primer: http://www.cascadiamedia.org/galleries/gvp.html
Community Radio Network: http://www.communityradionetwork.org
Bread and Puppet: http://breadandpuppet.org/
International Theatre of the Oppressed: http://www.theatreoftheoppressed.org/en/index.php?useFlash=1
Les Grandes Personnes:www.lesgrandespersonnes.com
Dancers Without Borders: www.dancerswithoutborders.net
Image Magica: www.imagemagica.org.br
Social and Public Arts Resource Center: www.sparcmurals.org
The Beehive Collective: www.beehivecollective.org
Craft Revival: www.craftrevival.org
Jatyavarchi Ovi (Maharashtrian women's folk song)
World Comics: AREA Chicago: http://www.areachicago.org
Reviving Traditional Games: www.kreedagames.com
Digital Storytelling Center: http://www.storycenter.org/stories/
SmartMeme: http://smartmeme.org/
National Folklore Support Centre: www.indianfolklore.org

On City Farming (or "Political Horticulture"):
Gobar Times: http://www.gobartimes.org/gt20040315/gt_covfeature.htm
Family Farm Defenders: http://www.familyfarmdefenders.org
Food Not Lawns: www.foodnotlawns.com
Large-Scale On-site Community Farming: http://www.wintergreenfarm.com/
Rooftop Farms: http://www.cityfarmer.info/2009/08/26/rooftop-farms-a-6000-square-foot-organic-vegetable-farm-in-brooklyn-new-york/
Practical Action: Practical Solutions: http://practicalaction.org/?id=home
The World of Millets
Vegetable Gardeners of Havana (short film)
SOIL in Haiti (short film)

On Water, Rainwater Harvesting:
Waterlution: www.waterlution.org
Water Conserve: www.waterconserve.info
Rainwater Harvesting: www.rainwaterharvesting.org
Metaefficient: www.metaefficient.com/metaefficient/archives/rain-water-harvesting/
Dry Toilets: www.drytoilet.org
Aquaduct: Mobile Filtration Unit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-U-mvfjyiao
Dr. Leo Rebello's Ten Commandments to Save Water
Teaching Kids About Water Conservation
Water Conservation Resources (Thanks Bella!)

On Slow Food, Solar Energy and Healthy Cooking:
The Health Awareness Center (Mumbai) www.internetindia.com/health/thac/
Bryant Terry and Eat Grub: www.bryant-terry.com
The Slow Food Movement: www.slowfood.com
www.solarschools.com
www.solarcooking.org
www.sunoven.com
www.solarcookers.co.za/
www.backwoodshome.com/articles/radabaugh30.html
solarcooking.org/recipes/
Healing the Planet with a Veg Diet
Vegan Restaurant Guide: www.veganguide.org

On Bio-Diesel and Alternative Car Energy:
www.dieselveg.com
www.vegoilmotoring.com
www.greaseworks.org
www.biodiesel.org
www.voiceyourself.com
Center for Alternative Technology: http://www.cat.org.uk/

On Climate Change Initiatives:
Carbon Calculators - by the EPA; by Consumer Consequences; by Conservation International
Designing Energy Descent Pathways
10 Things You Can Do
10 Reasons to Plant Trees
What Can We Do?
Indian Youth Climate Network
www.earthday.net
http://www.stopglobalwarming.org
www.liveearth.org
www.americanforest.org
www.afreshsqueeze,com
www.globalgaia.org/climate
Global Warming Presentation - Jagdish Shukhla
Biodiversity Conservation (India) Limited: http://www.ecobcil.com/

Climate Healers: www.climatehealers.org

Other Experiences and Ideas in Learning Cities:

“Cities there must be in man’s civilization, just as in higher organisms there must be organized centers of life, such as the brain, heart or stomach. These never overwhelm the living wholeness of the body; on the contrary, by a perfect federation of their functions, they maintain its richness. But a tumor round which the blood is congested is the enemy of the whole body, which it feeds upon as it swells.  Our modern cities, in the same way, feed upon the whole social organism that runs through the villages; they continually drain away the life stuff of the community, and slough off a huge amount of dead matter, while assuming a lurid counterfeit of prosperity.”

- Rabindranath Tagore, "City and Village", 1924

City-Related Readings to Explore
Bookchin, Murray. From Urbanization to Cities: Towards a New Politics of Citizenship.  London: Cassell, 1992. – “Can we give the city a new meaning, a new politics, a new sense of direction — as well as provide new ideals of citizenship, many of which were in fact once attained in varying degrees in previous times?”

Girardet, Herbert. Creating Sustainable Cities. Devon, UK: Green Books and Schumacher Society, 1999. – “Can cities transform themselves into self-regulating, sustainable systems – not only in their internal functioning, but also in their relationship to the outside world?”

Low, Nicholas, et al, eds. Consuming Cities: The Urban Environment in the Global Economy after the Rio Declaration. London and New York: Routledge, 2000. – “Not only has a globalised corporate sector pitted cities (as well as nation-states) against one another in a nexus of market relations, but the entire global system of corporate relations, of which city administrations are increasingly part, is responsible for the health or sickness of the whole planetary environment.”

Mumford, Lewis. The Culture of Cities. New York: HBJ, 1938. – “Today we begin to see that the improvement of cities is no matter of small one-sided reforms: the task of city design involves the vaster task of rebuilding our civilization.  We must alter the parasitic and predatory modes of life that now play so large a part, and we must create region by region, continent by continent, an effective symbiosis, or cooperative living together.”

Register, Richard and Brady Peeks, eds. Village Wisdom: Future Cities. Oakland, USA: Ecocity Builders, 1996. – “Will these pages and words change your life? Will they make many more of us believe we can change the way we build and live? Will they give us new ways to stop the destruction of the natural world and get on with building a truly creative, compassionate civilization right at the time its life support systems are beginning to crumble in our hands?”

Schumacher, E.F. "No Future of Megapolis" in This I Believe. Devon, UK: Green Books, 1997.

Short, John. The Human City: Cities As If People Matter. Oxford: Basil Blackwell, 1989. – “My aim is to find ways of enabling people to make their own liveable cities and truly human places.”

 

 

Swaraj Foundation Home | Colophon | Copyleft 2005